Walking the Goose, Part 38

There’s a house that almost always has people sitting outside on the stoop, usually a man and a woman. They talk pretty loud. Sometimes they seem angry.

Today I realize what they’re talking about. They guy is reading from the Bible and preaching about the resurrection of Christ.

I wonder if I should stop and join in the conversation. From decades of on-again/off-again faith, I’ve come to know a thing or two about the Bible. Sometimes it’s fun to see what other people believe, and see if they’re interested in what I believe.

But I make a quick judgement call and assume that this dude is probably (like 80% likely) a fundamentalist. Which would probably mean he’s not at all interested in anything anyone else says if it differs from his beliefs, and that, even if he was interested, he’d have zero inclination to be open to the possibility of adjusting his beliefs.

I could be wrong, of course. He might be really open-minded. And maybe I’m the close-minded and bigoted one because I wouldn’t even give him a chance.

Such is the world of prejudice.

I make eye-contact as we walk by and wave at him. He stares at me for a second and then waves back.

October 17th

2.21 miles

Leave a Reply

