Walking the Goose, Part 24

October 3rd

2.89 Miles

This old dude was standing in front of the Lutheran church. He looked like he had a hard night and maybe was still pretty drunk. He was looking up at the big picto-sculpture of Jesus, the Good Shepherd, holding his crook in one hand and loving kindness, presumably, in the other.

bethluth13b-600x404

I thought to ask the old dude, “What’re you looking for?”

But I didn’t. I just looked at him as me and Goose walked by. He was tall and lean and had a face that was all dried up, probably from being out in the elements, either for work or because he’s homeless. His clothes were dirty but nice, jeans and a button-up shirt, tucked in.

After we got a few yards down the street, he yells out, “What! You got somethin’ to say!”

“Nope,” I respond, and just keep walking.

I look back and he’s still standing there, looking as Jesus. Maybe I could’ve said “good luck” or something, but who knows how he would’ve taken it.

2 comments

  1. peterjfoster · October 3, 2014

    What a strange story. I don’t know what I would have said, either. Is that a picture of your church? lovely.

    • Juan Zung · October 3, 2014

      Hi Peter, No, not my church, just a local house of worship in my neighborhood. It is a very nice campus though and I sometimes think about visiting.

Leave a Reply

