Walking the Dog, Part 21

September 30th

2.3 miles

I meet twice a month with other writers. We read each others’ work and critique it. It works because we’re good at knowing what we don’t like about each other’s projects and figuring out ways to tell each other what we don’t like about each other’s projects without (usually) ending up in fist fights or inconsolable crying.

One particularly good piece of feedback I got was from my buddy Moon. It went something like this:

I feel like your writing is like a movie shot entirely in close-ups. It’s good, but it’s exhausting. I wish you’d include more wide-angle shots.

So, I’m thinking about that comment today during me and Goose’s walk. And I think about what I notice in my environment while I walk. And mostly it’s stuff like this:

IMG_0546

But then I try to think about noticing stuff that I don’t usually notice. And I guess that’d be stuff like this:

IMG_0545

I don’t know. That second picture is boring to me. And that first picture is just so damn interesting.

3 comments

  1. Elliott Chen · September 30, 2014

    The first rule about Write Club is you don’t write about Write club.

    • Juan Zung · October 1, 2014

      Does this mean I’m gonna get made into soap now?

  2. mihrank · September 30, 2014

    Kindly support me on Facebook Fanpage. Appreciate if you could please ‘like’ my page :

    https://www.facebook.com/MihranKalaydjianPianoMelodies

Leave a Reply

