Come Not Lightly

stephen-king-on-writing-d1d225f2c6e25fcd45dce87de1f77d4d6e695e5f

“You can approach the act of writing with nervousness, excitement, hopefulness, or even despair–the sense that you can never completely put on the page what’s in your mind and heart. You can come to the act with your fists clenched and your eyes narrowed, ready to kick ass and take down names. You can come to it because you want a girl to marry you or because you want to change the world. Come to it any way but lightly. Let me say it again: you must not come lightly to the blank page.

– Stephen King

7 comments

  1. Juan Zung · June 5, 2014

    BTW: the Wang word-processor I use as my “short stories” icon looks an awful lot like SK’s. Pretty cool. Comparing wangs with Stephen King.

  2. Heather M. · June 6, 2014

    I’m such a fan of Stephen King. I might even be a little obsessed with him. I read his book “On Writing” and it just made me an even bigger fan. The man is a little looney, but such an amazing writer. Reading his quotes always makes me want to writer more and better. My dream is to meet him one day…and to possibly write a book with him, because that would be awesome. lol

    • Juan Zung · June 6, 2014

      Stephen King was definitely my first love as an author. I have so many memories as a kid, holed up in my room with an SK book for hours (sometimes days!) on end.

      • Heather M. · June 6, 2014

        Do you ever look back and wonder how in the world you got away with reading Stephen King at a young age? I have been watching horror movies since I was three. “It” was one of my favorites Stephen King novels came into the picture when I was about 12. I think my parents might have been a little crazy letting me get into all that so young. lol

  3. Juan Zung · June 9, 2014

    Yeah, it is a little surprising how much gore and horror I was reading (and watching) as a kid. At least for the books, I think my mom was just happy that I was into reading. 🙂

  4. samk987 · June 11, 2014

    Does SK mean you gotta approach writing each and every day with weight and passion? Never indifference? Or is he just telling us “it’s okay” to have that all-too-familiar perspiration?

    • Juan Zung · June 12, 2014

      Hey, SK! I’m not sure. I take it to mean that we need to approach writing with an unusually weighty commitment. I think it’s because good writing is very hard to do: to be entertaining, thought provoking and honest (in some deeply personal and yet universal way). It’s hard to pull that off with a light attitude.

Leave a Reply

