Tales of Time Travel from the Twilight Zone

I’m planning to write a novel in November. Actually a short story collection. My theme is time travel.

This book is bound to be awful. I mean, who can write a good book in 30 days (Raymond Aaron excepted). And, though I’ve tried a couple times, I’ve never finished writing a novel before. I can’t imagine the first one I write will be particularly well-crafted. But it will be crafted, mark my words!

I’ll be doing it here on this blog. So, if you’re interested, check back in. For the time being, I’ll be doing research and maybe trying out a few ideas. But once November rolls around, it’s a story a day for 30 days.

One idea I’ve always loved is working with the Twilight Zone stories. These stories pretty much served as the foundation to my moral and ethical beliefs and practices.

My book might be a retelling of all the time travel stories from the original Twilight Zone series.

I’ve compiled a list of those episodes:

    1. Walking Distance
    2. The Last Flight
    3. The Sixteen Millimeter Shrine
    4. Long Live Walter Jameson
    5. Execution
    6. Nightmare as a Child
    7. A Stop at Willoughby

      Photo Cred: CBS

      Photo Cred: CBS

  1. Mr. Bevis
  2. King Nine Will Not Return
  3. A Most Unusual Camera
  4. Back There
  5. The Trouble with Templeton
  6. The Odyssey of Flight 33
  7.  Static
  8.  A Hundred Years Over the Rim

    Photo Cred: CBS

    Photo Cred: CBS

  9. The Rip Van Winkle Caper
  10. Death’s Head Revisited
  11. Young Man’s Fancy
  12. A Quality of Mercy
  13. Once Upon a Time
  14. Showdown With Rance McGrew
  15. Death Ship
  16. No Time Like The Past
  17. The Incredible World of Horace Ford
  18. The Bard*
  19. Of Late I Think of Cliffordville
  20. In Praise of PipPhoto Cred: CBS
  21. A Kind of a Stopwatch
  22. The 7th is Made Up of Phantoms
  23. Spur of the Moment
  24. Queen of the Nile
  25. The Loving Morrow
  26. What’s in the Box
5 comments

  1. Graham Storrs · August 27, 2013

    Good luck with this, Ghozt Writer. Even if at the end of it you have thirty one-page story beginnings and half-a-dozen decent ideas, that would be quite a haul for a month’s work.

  2. Juan Zung · November 5, 2013

    Well, I got a pretty big gig that’ll last into the next 6 months, so looks like no chance of doing the novel this year. 2014, definitely… Maybe I should write a time travel story about a a time travel story writer who goes back in time to write his novel?

  3. Kate Loveton · April 16, 2014

    Love the concept of time travel and love theTwilight Zone. Interested to see what you come up with!

    • Juan Zung · April 17, 2014

      Thanks, Kate! I’ve got two of my TZ adaptations up now: One Good Memory and So Odd, A Boy Like This. Hopefully be posting one each Tuesday until I get through this list… [fingers crossed!]

      • Kate Loveton · April 17, 2014

        I’ll check them out this weekend. Good luck with your Tuesday postings. 🙂

Leave a Reply

